On Beginning to Think Constructively about KU Football

• The title of my post, “On Beginning to Think Constructively about KU Football,” leaves me open to charges of expressing an oxymoron, but I am trying to roll up my sleeves and start somewhere on this mess that I have long avoided like the plague that KU football has been most of my lifetime.

I was a feasibility analyst once very long ago, so I am predisposed to thinking nothing is impossible, just resource constrained, while at the same time being possessed of sufficient respect for complexity and unforeseen consequence, to also think some things are not worth the resources and effort required.

So long as football appeared a certain brain wrecker, I resisted temptation to explore football rigorously. It was a moral issue, same as boxing. Its a great sport, but its morally wrong. Don’t support it. But as I noted recently in another post, some evidence has come in that calls brain wrecking into some (but hardly complete) question, so to be reasonable, I think I must start to consider the heretofore unthinkable–serious analysis of how to reanimate the corpse of KU football without re-enacting something positively Lovecraftian in the doing of it; i.e., analyze without going all Herbert West.

First, everyone needs to forget about Bill Snyder and KSU; that situation is a blinder to good feasibility analysis. He was then, this is now. What is Snyder? 143?

Snyder rebuilt KSU in a prior century under circumstances essentially as unlike today, as Amos Alonzo Stagg’s time was to young Bob Devaney’s build of Nebraska. Snyder was at a school as unlike KU, as storming the court from applauding great performances by opponents. Both have their places, but they just do have divergent world views.